What I didn’t say

If it weren’t for the fact that it was late and we were running out of time…I might have held the microphone and had an opportunity to speak at my high school reunion last night. This is an amazing prospect for one who liked to think that she was invisible back then (although most people are quick to tell me that I was sorely mistaken!).

In the split second it took to register that the opportunity was within my grasp, the emcee stepped in and moved us on to the raffle and recognitions time…and the evening came to a close.

But I still have something to say…

In this time of reconnection and festivity, we need to also remember those who were not with us. Those who had passed on, (too young! too young!); those who were physically unable to attend due to personal illness or like many, the responsibility of caring for someone – like children or even parents; those who, in this economy, were not able to come be with us not for lack of desire, but for the hard choices that have to be made to keep roofs over heads and food on tables. Their pain is every bit as real – and each one of us could be in that situation in the blink of an eye.

No matter what we might think and believe about ourselves, one truth remains: we are who we are because of and sometimes in spite of our circumstances.  I learned this in Mr. Peters’ freshman psych class, when we had to write our philosophy of life:

I had to go through what I went through to be where I am.

Funny how this is as true now as it was then…if not more so.

So many said to me, “You haven’t changed a bit.”
Yes – I am older, as we all are. Yes, this is my hair color – I paid for it – it’s mine! Yes, I have wrinkles and spots and scars. But they are what enabled me to be there to reminisce and reconnect with so many dear souls. I had to go through what I went through to be where I am. And I like where I am.

This entry was posted in History, In the Study. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I didn’t say

  1. allyn says:

    wonderful post reminder that our place in this world is where we should be and what we make of it. sounded like you enjoyed your high school reunion. Yay!

  2. Tye says:

    We had to go through what we went through to find each other.

  3. Gary says:

    Well said, Laura. I am said you and I didn’t get to chat much, but the evening went by so quickly, there were many I missed. I figured I’d say howdy to all my friends and then would be bored for the next few hours and go home at 9. That certainly wasn’t the case. There just wasn’t enough time in the weekend to catch up.

    You and Tye looked terrific- brown hair and all. I am glad you came.

    g

  4. Allyn: definitely enjoyed myself. It was both satisfying and bittersweet at the same time.
    Gary: it was so good to see you too. We arrived and the next thing I knew, we turned around and they were cleaning up…how did the night go by so quickly? Thank you for encouraging me to attend.

Leave a Reply

